Cards’ streak mentioned in USA Today


Last week on Thursday, USA Today posted a story online that listed the top 25 high school football winning streaks across the United States. A local school was included on the list.
The Conway Springs Cardinals won 62 consecutive games from 2001 to 2005. That streak ties the Cardinals for 22nd on the list. Maine-Endwell in New York also won 62 games from 2011 to 2015.
Kansas is well-represented on the list. Smith Center placed fifth with 79 wins, and St. Mary’s-Colgan in Pittsburg tied for 16th with 66 wins. In fact, Kansas is the only state with three teams on the list. California, Tennessee and Michigan each had two teams. Only 20 states are represented.
During their streak, the Cardinals turned in four straight championship seasons – all undefeated – as they claimed the Class 3A title in 2001, 2002, 2003 and 2004. The streak ended late in the 2005 season, as rival Garden Plain downed Conway Springs 35-7 in district play.
The Cardinals have been one of Kansas’ winningest football teams over the last quarter-century. The current run of success includes seven 3A titles. Former head coach Mark Bliss brought in the single wing offense and changed Conway Springs’ fortunes, with the Cardinals winning their first State football championship in 1998. Greg Rosenhagen was the head coach in 2004, when the Cardinals won the last of the four consecutive titles and fifth overall. Lelin George was at the helm when Conway Springs won the title in 2008. Current head coach Matt Biehler was at the helm for the Cardinals’ most recent title, in 2011. Conway Springs was undefeated when it won its first five State titles.
Biehler and current assistant coach Gregg Hullinger were on the staff as assistants when Conway Springs won its first State championship, and consistency among the coaching staff has been a key part of the Cardinals’ success over the past 25 years.

Longest high school football winning streaks

1 De La Salle (Calif.)    151 games   1992-2003
2 Independence (N.C.)    109 games   2000-2007
3 Sims (S.C.)    92 games (92-0-4)   1945-1954
4 South Panola (Miss.)    89 games    2003-2008
5 Smith Center (Kan.)    79 games    2004-2009
6 Bedford Co. Training (Tenn.)    78 games (78-0-4)   1943-1950
7 Maryville (Tenn.)    74 games    2004-2008
8 Hudson (Mich.)    72 games    1968-1975
9 (tie). Caledonia (Mich.)    71 games    2015-2021
9 (tie). Jefferson City (Mo.)    71 games    1958-1966
9 (tie). Edgewood Acacemy (Ala.)    71 games    2010-2015
12 Kimberly (Wisc.)    70 games    2013-2017
13 (tie). Animas (N.M.)    69 games    1984-1990
13 (tie). Ithaca (Mich.)    69 games    2010-2014
15 Celina (Texas)    68 games    1998-2002
16 (tie). St. Mary’s-Colgan (Kan.)    66 games    1999-2004
16 (tie). Clairton (Pa.)    66 games    2009-2013
18 Pittsfield (Ill.)    64 games    1966-1973
19 (tie). Barton (Ark.)    63 games    1985-1990
19 (tie). Paulsboro (N.J.)    63 games    1992-1997
19 (tie). Blue Ridge (Ariz.)    63 games    1994-1998
22 (tie). Conway Springs (Kan.)    62 games    2001-2005
22 (tie). Maine-Endwell (N.Y.)    62 games    2011-2015
24 Central Catholic (Calif.)    61 games    2001-2005
25 Bloomington South (Ind.)    60 games    1967-1973