Argonia students ready for murder-mystery

The cast in costume will perform on Nov. 14 and 21 and the audience will get to vote on who they think the murderer is.

By Travis Mounts

ARGONIA – Intrigue will be on the menu the next two Saturdays, as students at Argonia High School stage “Cafe Murder,” an audience participation murder mystery.
The show will be performed on Nov. 14 and Nov. 21. Snacks are available for purchase and will be served at 6:30 p.m. The curtain goes up at 7 p.m. Masks will be required.
Tickets for the show are $5.
The plot centers on Rosemary Saint-John, a loud, annoying hypochondriac who is convinced she is allergic to water. While celebrating her birthday at a restaurant with her three kooky sisters – a hippie girl, a Valley girl, and trucker – Rosemary makes enemies with everyone around her.
When she disappears and is presumed murdered, the only objective witnesses in the restaurant are the audience members, who must cast their votes. Was it one of her sisters? The self-taught detective? Maybe it was the passionate French chef, the polite and proper maitre d’ or the sarcastic waiter.
“It’s a satire on the murder-mystery genre,” said director Natalie Shirley.
The one-act play includes time for the audience to ask questions of the characters. Seating will be limited to around 50 people. People will be seated in a socially-distanced manner at tables on the gymnasium floor. Overflow seating will be in the stands.
Tickets are $5 and will be available at the door. Masks will be required.
The snack menu will include key lime pie, with is associated with the script.
This is the only play during the school year for Argonia High School. Right now, the school alternates staging a musical one year and a straight play the next. Shirley said she would love to have two shows a year, with a musical each year.
There are eight cast members plus three crew members.
The cast includes: Aubreigh Haxton, Shelby Handlin-Rowell, Ross Carter, Emma Huntley, Savannah Shilvely, Brooke Love and Aidan Kollmeyer.
Crew members are Jadyn Gallardo, Jed Phillips, Brady Roblin, Brayden Pierce, Dalton Morrison, Elvis Gregg and Destiny Baker.