Primary results 2020


Editor's note: This story is available to all readers; no subscription is required.

By Travis Mounts


Statewide, the main focus of the election season has been on the race to replace retiring Sen. Pat Roberts. The November match-up will pit Rep. Roger Marshall against for State Sen. Barbara Bollier. Marshall and former Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach got most of the attention, although Bob Hamilton was making a major push. But it quickly became apparent that the GOP race belonged to Marshall. By around 11 p.m., with 3,089 of 3,577 precincts reporting, Marshall had secured 39 percent of the vote. That gave him a 13-point lead over Kobach (26 percent). Hamilton was third at 19 percent. Eight other candidates – all men – were in the race, but not managed more than 7 percent of the vote.

Bollier, a former Republican, easily won the Democratic primary with 86 percent of the vote, beating Robert Leon Tillman.

Democrats had hoped to see Kobach win, expecting he would be easier to beat than Marshall. While red-leaning Kansas has shown a willingness to put Democrats in the governor's mansion, there has not been a Democratic U.S. senator from the Sunflower State since the 1930s. Bollier, however, has a sizeable money advantage over all of the Republican candidates.

In Sumner County, incumbent sheriff Darren Chambers beat Republican challenger 56-44 percent. Jim Newell held off Shelley Hansel in the race for Sumner County Commission District 2. Both were GOP races. No Democrats filed in either race.

In Sedgwick County, Michael O'Donnell overcame two challengers and his own controversies to advance to the general election for the County Commission District 2 seat. With 52 percent of the vote, he outgained challengers Kathleen E. Garrison's and Cindy Miles' combined totals.

In District 3, David Dennis beat Hunter Larkin 54-46 percent. Dennis was in the incumbent, while Larkin – a newcomer at 21 – is on the Goddard City Council. Larkin is in position to become Goddard mayor after Monday's resignation by Mayor Jamey Blubaugh. (See related story).

There were two local House races in the primary. In the District 93 GOP race, Brian Bergkamp ran away with the vote against two challengers. He got 81 percent of the vote to beat incumbent J.C. Moore and challenger Mike Webb.

On the Democratic side, former House Rep. Steven Crum was successful in Step 1 of his effort to get back to Topeka. He beat Carol Brewer 55-45 percent.

LOCAL PRIMARY RESULTS - Unofficial as of Tuesday, Aug. 4:

US Senate - Republican 2812 of 3577 precinctsLance Berland 4,651% 4,856John L. Berman 682% 697Derek C. Ellis 3,2% 3,371Bob

US Senate - Republican 3511 of 3577 precinctsLance Berland 2% 6,035John L. Berman 0% 815Derek C. Ellis 1% 3,891Bob Hamilton 19% 72,810Kris Kobach 26% 102,235David Alan Lindstrom 6% 25,242Roger Marshall 40% 156,784Brian Matlock 2% 6,344John Miller 1% 4,081Steve Roberts 2% 7,480Gabriel Mark Robles 1% 3,516

US Senate - Democrat 3511 of 3577 precinctsBarbara Bollier 86% 151,736Robert Leon Tillman 14% 25,481

KS House District 93 - Rep. 19 of 19 precinctsBrian Bergkamp 81% 2,625J.C. Moore 11% 348Mike Webb 9% 285

KS House District 98 - Dem. 15 of 15 precinctsCarol Brewer 45% 353Steven G. Crum 55% 438

Sedgwick Co. Comm. Dist. 2-Rep. 48 of 48 precinctsKathleen E. Garrison 28% 2,140Cindy Miles 20% 1,525Michael O’Donnell 52% 3,992

Sedgwick Co. Comm. Dist. 3-Rep. 55 of 55 precinctsDavid Dennis 54% 7,575Hunter Larkin 46% 6,482

Sumner Co. Comm. Dist. 2 - Rep. 39 of 39 precinctsShelley Hansel 39% 498Jim Newell 61% 779

Sumner Co. Sheriff - Rep. 39 of 39 precinctsJason Boyd 44% 1669Darren Chambers 56% 2148

Sedgwick Co. Treasurer - Rep. 267 of 267 precinctsBrandi Baily 51% 22,589Ben Sauceda 49% 21,753

**You must have a subscription to view this content.**


Online content at is available with a subscription to combined print edition of The Times-Sentinel, Haysville Sun-Times, and Conway Springs Star & Argonia Argosy.

If you already have a subscription and an online account, log in below.

If you already have a subscription to the print edition and would like to add online access, please click this link. Fill out the form and allow up to two business days for us to add online access to your subscription.

Please note that we will not add online access until we have verified your paid subscription.

If you want a subscription, please choose the option that best fits your needs.


To start a new subscription or to renew an existing one, please choose the appropriate option based on length of subscription and your location (within Sedgwick/Sumner counties, out-of-county, our outside of Kansas).

TSnews ongoing subscription – with print delivery in Sedgwick/Sumner counties – $5 per month

Optional link label here…

TSnews 6-month subscription - with print delivery in Sedgwick/Sumner counties - auto-renew - $22.50

Optional link label here…

TSnews 1-year subscription - with print delivery in Sedgwick/Sumner counties - non-recurring - $40

Optional link label here…

TSnews 1-year subscription - out-of-county-delivery - non-recurring - $45

Optional link label here…

TSnews 1-year subscription - out-of-state delivery - non-recurring - $50

Optional link label here…

TSnews 1-year subscription - ONLINE ONLY - non-recurring - $40

Optional link label here…