Haysville: Voters trim Ward IV candidates

By Travis Mounts

Haysville voters went to the polls Tuesday to narrow the list of candidates for the city council Ward IV seat.

Advancing to November’s general election are Danny D. Walters and Darren A. Pokorski, according to initial returns.

Walters was the clear winner with 44 votes, more than the other three candidates combined.

With 9 votes, Pokorski was ahead of Damian Cope (8 votes) and L. Brooks Howard (7 votes).

The general election ballot will be longer.

Haysville Mayor Bruce Armstrong is being challenged by sitting council member Russ Kessler.

In Ward I, Steve Crum will face a challenge from Aaron Lindsay. Daniel Benner in Ward II, and Patricia Ewert in Ward III are unopposed. Janet Parton is unopposed in a special election for the other Ward II seat.

In the USD 261 Board of Education race, Paige Crum, Forrest Hummel, Pat Lemmons and Jeremy Bennett are vying for three seats.